New goal: Sugar Free Diet

So, it has been a while since my last post. Why, do you ask? I had little inspiration for new recipes. I also had camera problems. With all of that you don’t really want to do anything. So, what to do? Sometimes the solution is simple: just do nothing. And that is exactly what I did.

After I graduated I was really enthused about going on vacation and about finding a job that would be perfect for me. Ambitious, I know. I had underestimated what I wanted from my future. So now I’m doing some soul searching.

I did straightened out what I wanted out my diet.

Goal: Sugar Free Diet.

This is a big deal. Sugar is in everything. It is very easy to get addicted to. It is so easy to get very cranky, because of cravings. I usually got craving that got so bad that I went to the supermarket to buy something sweet. I usually devoured the whole thing. It’s really annoying!

Well, the cravings stop here! And I would like to find out what kind of benefits I would get from not eating sugar, for example losing weight. There are a lot of ailments that are contributed to eating a lot of sugar, for example yeast infections.

It is exactly very difficult to find information about the rules of a sugar free diet. The rules are subjective and change from person to person. So I made my own rules, which are the following.

1. Sugar free eating means no added sugars. This includes: 

a. Honey

b. Sugar

c. Any kind of syrup (date / rice / corn / maple / etc.).

d. Artificial sweeteners (f.e. stevia – I personally don’t like it)

e. Products with concentrated fruit juice (juice from concentrate)

2. You will add sugars through fruit, grains, vegetables, roots and beans.

You can also sweeten dishes with fruit juice, as long as it isn’t from concentrate.

3. Dried fruit is allowed, but try not to eat more sugar than a maximum of 75 grams a day.

4. Eat fruit with a high glycemic index not more than 3 times a week. This includes bananas, mango’s and coconuts for example.

5. Avoid products with added sugars. If one of the sugars mentioned at (1) is included in the ingredient list, don’t eat it. Pay attention. There is sugar in the most unlikely of products.

6. Chocolate is acceptable if:

a. There is at least 92% cocoa in the chocolate.

b. There is less than 8 grams of sugar per 100 grams.

c. You don’t eat more than 2 squares a day, not more than 3 times a week.

How do you prepare?

You have to collect everything that contains sugar or syrup. Put them in a box and either give them to your neighbors / friends / donation or throw them away.

If you eat a lot a sugar, it is going to take some time to detox. You will struggle through the first week or two. Afterwards, you won’t even miss the sugar anymore. If you don’t eat a lot of sugar, you will need less time to detox, usually 4 days.

The most annoying part is doing groceries. Then you really notice that everything has sugar in it, even in the deli! I have also tried to research sugar free recipes, but still use a little bit of sugar. This really confused me! Vanilla sugar is still sugar. Anyways, you have to pay a lot of attention. For example, I still use jam, but only if there is no added sugar in the jam, but for example apple juice.

You can get through the first weeks. It isn’t the end of the world. Just remember: don’t eat too many banana’s, mango’s or dried fruit. Too much of something is still bad for you. I have managed to live without sugar for 2 weeks.

In the coming weeks I will post sugar free recipes, savory dishes and reviews for products. So, stay tuned!

Thanks for your patience and see you next time!

Remember, eat your veggies! ^.^

Geef een reactie

